Jacaranda

Jacaranda treeJacaranda

illusion of pink blossom

      buoy up in May sky

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jacarandas are about to bloom here in Los Angeles. The jacaranda trees always remind me of cherry blossoms, the flowers that people back in my native country, Japan, cherish most. The cherry blossoms have been a theme for art or music. Its flowers and leaves are used for confectionery. In other words, Japanese people fully use all senses to enjoy the pale pink spring flowers. Yesterday, again, I thought about the cherry blossoms when I looked up at a jacaranda. Both jacaranda flowers and cherry blossoms look graceful up in the trees and emanate a sense of wistfulness down on the streets. My heart leaps and sighs.

This is my very first haiku. Hope you enjoy it.

~ Lonely Daffodil

16 thoughts on “Jacaranda

  1. I am in rural NY, not the city, and our city has cherry blossom trees lining most of the downtown streets. It is a visual and aromatic feast. wonderful first haiku, a form I love to play with without following most of the traditional rules.

    • The cherry blossoms lined up on the streets must be stunning. Thank you for your thoughtful comments on my first haiku! Hmm, I am thinking what my next haiku would be about🙂

  2. I used to live in the city of Victoria, on Vancouver Island, BC – now I live on the northern end of the Island. But Victoria can make you cry with the beauty of the flowering trees. Streets and streets of overhanging colour. At our home the apple blossoms are starting to come. There is something so breathtaking about delicate clusters of flowers on a tree. Love the haiku.

Leave a Reply

