The Night in Paris

Uh oh. 2 missed calls? How could I miss my incoming calls, especially from her? Feeling tipsy after sipping a little of bit wine, I peek at the burgundy stain on my left white cuff. It’s still there. I carefully wiped it off with the wet towel, but obviously, my attempt didn’t work at all. My wife will be upset to see this, complaining that a stain like this is hard to get removed or something.

Well, I should focus on what I have to do right now. Let me worry about the worst-case scenario with her later on. I sober as I speed through the crispy night air. I have one more stop tonight before going home.

Going by, I glance at the street. It’s Christmas Eve. Many stores and restaurants are closed, but it doesn’t bother me. Voilà. The glittering illuminations on the trees alongside the Champs-Elysées entertain me. The white lights are radiating gracefully like the bubbles in a champagne glass. Christmas in Paris is the most festive time of year. A group of people in coats are strolling to enjoy the alluring views. The breath of a young couple is drifting out as tiny white clouds. The girl nods with a smile. What are they chatting about? Are they lovers?

The Arc de Triomphe appears just ahead of me, which means I have to make a sharp left turn pretty soon. This is my fifth visit to Paris, so I am getting quite comfortable with this eloquent French capital. I don’t think I need a fancy GPS here.

“Au revior, Paris. See you next year.” I wave my hand to the pedestrians. Nobody waves back at me, anyway. I know. I knew that. Because I am up in the sky!

“We are almost there,” one of my companions says.

The bobtails are making a merry tune as we go along. My sleigh is lowering toward the chimney of an old brick house in Fontainebleau. Snowflakes start to tap my cheeks.

The Night in Paris

Happy Holidays!

May the magic and wonder of the season

fill your heart and home.

2 thoughts on “The Night in Paris

Leave a Reply

