My Ferragamo Shoes

The minister was waiting for me with
the Ferragamo shoes
Bordeaux, flat, size six
in his palms

The clock stroke twice
I blinked once
I walked into the well-lighted room
They were too good to be true

Carefully, like a glassmaker in love,
I patted the sleek leather
My right foot first, then the left
slowly slipped into the shoes

Behind the pumpkin parked like a Porsche
his footsteps reached me
The minister left us all alone
and closed the door for us

He whispered me three words
My Ferragamo shoes held her breath

Ferragamo Shoes

Leave a Reply

